Wednesday, 6 February 2013

How Northern Irish MPs Voted on Same Sex Marriage

The House of Commons yesterday voted by 400 to 175 in favour of the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill at its second reading.

In Northern Ireland:

  • 2 MPs voted Yes (11.1%)
  • 9 MPs voted No (50%)
  • 6 MPs didn't vote (33.3%) 
  • One seat (Mid Ulster) is currently vacant pending a by-election.

The following list is how Northern Irish MPs voted in that division.

Gregory CampbellDUPEast LondonderryNo
Nigel DoddsDUPBelfast NorthNo
Pat DohertySinn FéinWest TyroneDidn't Vote*
Jeffrey DonaldsonDUPLagan ValleyNo
Mark DurkanSDLPFoyleYes
Michelle GildernewSinn FéinFermanagh and South TyroneDidn't Vote*
Sylvia HermonIndependentNorth DownNo
Naomi LongAllianceBelfast EastYes
Paul MaskeySinn FéinBelfast WestDidn't Vote*
William McCreaDUPSouth AntrimNo
Conor MurphySinn FéinNewry and ArmaghDidn't Vote*
Alasdair McDonnellSDLPBelfast SouthDidn't Vote
Ian Paisley JrDUPNorth AntrimNo
Margaret RitchieSDLPSouth DownDidn't Vote
David SimpsonDUPUpper BannNo
Jim ShannonDUPStrangfordNo
Sammy WilsonDUPEast AntrimNo

*Sinn Féin MPs don't attend the House of Commons.